Headed Somewhere

I love the title of this blog, mostly because it’s sort of a “one size fits all” for my life.  Much a good pair of stretch pants in basic black for a pregnant body, this title continues to fit my ever-changing moods and life stages.  On days like these, when I cross my fingers in hopes my Chrome still remembers my WordPress username & password — because I sure as hell don’t, I know that whatever thoughts are bumping around in my head will “go” here.

*************************

For the past three months or so, I’ve been travelling down a road that looks a little like this:

Image

I’ve written here before about my personal goals to clean up and green up my family.  This year, my most recent leg of this journey began as I started looking into natural, food-based solutions to unwanted physical symptoms.  I found Dr. Mark Hyman’s wealth of nutrition-based resources and decided to cut out flour, dairy, sugar, caffeine, and alcohol for 7 weeks.

I was a few weeks down that road when I watched Forks Over Knives, Engine 2 Dietand began reading The China Study.  For days and weeks afterward, every time I looked at a piece of meat I thought, CANCER….HEART DISEASE….This is going to kill me.  Needless to say, my consumption of all animal products fell away like the shoulder of the road on a winding mountain road.

Right about this time, my husband started complaining of new-to-him physical symptoms he associated with our dietary changes.  While my body was finally purring like a well-oiled machine, his body was stalling out, rejecting his new ways.  That’s when a like-minded acquaintance introduced me to Eat Right 4 Your Blood Type, something I almost immediately dismissed as bogus.  But, I couldn’t pass judgement without first knowing more, and I couldn’t help wondering if this might possibly explain why my Type O husband wasn’t thriving on this plant-based diet, while my Type A body seemed to be reveling in it?

Yes.  Yes, it did.  In fact, the details that clicked and fit like missing pieces were ample.  But, I hesitated.  How can I just dismiss all the dangers of eating animal proteins I’d just learned and soothe my worried mind while my husband proceeds with a carnivorous lifestyle?  I couldn’t just accept it as true without understanding more about the foundational studies on which this book & practice is based.  (Mind you, he took that book as a green light to dive back into The Land of Beef & Bacon.)

While my research continues, I’m idling in an exploratory, self-reflective stage.  My physical and virtual bookshelves are filling up with vegan and vegetarian cookbooks and my Evernote & Pinterest accounts are filling up with vegan recipes & substitutions.  My refrigerator is stocked with coconut and almond milks, my (decaf) lattes and herbal teas are made with soy, and it’s tempeh and tofu all the way.

I won’t lie to you and say that I didn’t eat a Milky Way Midnight Bar from the checkout at Target the other day, or that I didn’t eat one of the best pieces of cheesy, NY style pizza I’ve had in a long time while I was on vacation a few weeks ago, or that I haven’t had a bowl or two of organic froyo this summer.  But I will say that I’ve been conflicted and aware, each and every time, and not ONCE have I thought, “Oh, to hell with it…I’m just going back to my old ways.”

Once again, I find that I’m taking baby steps, or maybe medium steps now, towards the person I want to be.**  Whether that person will belong to the religion-like “Vegetarian” or “Vegan” clubs, or take a more nondenominational stance as a “Flexitarian” or “Pescatarian” is yet to be determined.  More than likely, she’ll be some perfectly-imperfect blend of them all, not unlike my religion — Astrobuddhistian.

** More on this soon.

Leave a Reply

